HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

**FIRST SESSION OF 2018 – 2023** 



# ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

# ORDER PAPER

### SEVENTY-EIGHTH SITTING

FIRST SESSION OF 2018–2023

Friday, 7th August, 2020

Government Printing Department Barbados. SEVENTY-EIGHTH SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Friday, 7th August, 2020

The First Session of the Parliament of 2018-2023 commenced on Tuesday, 5th June, 2018

#### ORDER PAPER: FRIDAY, 7TH AUGUST, 2020 No. 78

### MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, Q.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne and Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

Hon. D. D. Marshall, Q.C.

Appointed on 10th July, 2018.

#### SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

#### COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder (Chairman), Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic, Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde, His Honour G. A. Clarke and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

#### COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or holds a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The Members of the Committee are:

Bishop J. J. S. Atherley (Chairman), Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands, Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Dr. S. E. Browne, Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

*His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Mr. G. W. Payne, Q.C., Hon. R. St. C. Toppin, Hon. K. D. Symmonds, Hon. W. A. Abrahams and Bishop J. J. S. Atherley.* 

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw, Lt. Col. the Hon. J. D. Bostic, His Honour G. A. Clarke and Mr. R. A. Thorne.

Appointed on 15th January, 2020.

#### LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. J. A. King, Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill and Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 5th June, 2018.

**3. Mr. R. A. Thorne:** To move the passing of a Resolution that the Honourable the House takes note of the Ministerial Statement delivered by the Minister of Finance and of the changes to Barbados Corporate Tax Regime and the intention of the Government to converge its Domestic Business Sector and the International Business Sector.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 20th November, 2018.

#### **ORDER OF BUSINESS**

### (Standing Order 10)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order –  $\,$ 

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the Governor-General.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Members' Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (1) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

## **PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS**

1. Mr. R. A. Thorne: To resume the debate on a Resolution to take note of the Throne Speech of Her Excellency the Governor-General and the determination of the Government to implement the provisions referred to therein.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 5th June, 2018.

On 24th July, 2018, Mr. R. A. Thorne spoke and moved seconded by Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid who spoke that the Resolution be passed. Hon. Miss M. K-A. Caddle spoke. Hon. P. R. Phillips spoke. Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde spoke. Bishop J. J. S. Atherley spoke. Hon. C. McD. Griffith spoke. Further consideration of the Resolution was postponed.

2. Mr. R. A. Thorne: To move the passing of a Resolution that the Honourable the House accepts and adopts the Report of the Public Accounts Committee 2013-2018.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 20th November, 2018.

On 4th December, 2018, Mr. R. A. Thorne spoke and moved seconded by Hon. K. D. Symmonds that the Resolution be passed. Hon. K. D. Symmonds spoke. Bishop J. J. S. Atherley spoke. Hon. E. G. Hinkson spoke. Hon. W. A. Abrahams spoke. Further consideration of the Resolution was postponed. On 11th December, 2018, Hon. J. A. King spoke. Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey spoke. Hon. Miss C. S. V. Husbands spoke. Hon. Miss C. Y. Forde spoke. Hon. T. A. Prescod spoke. Hon. P. R. Phillips spoke. Hon. C. E. Jordan spoke. Further consideration was postponed.

## **GOVERNMENT BUSINESS**

7

1. Hon. I. A. Weir: To move the Second Reading of the Markets and Slaughter-Houses (Amendment) Bill, 2019.

Notice of this Bill was given on 26th October, 2019.

The Bill was read a first time on 29th October, 2019.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 7th November, 2019.

2. Hon. K. D. Symmonds: To move the Second Reading of the Caves (Amendment) Bill, 2019.

Notice of this Bill was given on 26th November, 2019.

The Bill was read a first time on 26th November, 2019.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 5th December, 2019.

**3. Hon. D. D. Marshall:** To move the Second Reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2019.

Notice of this Bill was given on 16th December, 2019.

The Bill was read a first time on 17th December, 2019.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 16th January, 2020.

- 4. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move that the House resolve itself into Standing Finance Committee to consider the grant of sums of money for the service of this Island.
  - (a) Hon. R. R. Straughn: To move the passing of a Resolution to grant the sum of \$314,285 from the Consolidated Fund and to place it at the disposal of the Government to supplement the Estimates 2020-2021 as shown in the Supplementary Estimates No. 3, 2020-2021 which form the Schedule to the Resolution.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 16th July, 2020.

- 5. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move that the House resolve itself into Standing Finance Committee to consider the grant of sums of money for the service of this Island.
  - (a) Hon. D. D. Marshall: To move the passing of a Resolution to grant the sum of \$840,000 from the Consolidated Fund and to place it at the disposal of the Government to supplement the Estimates 2020-2021 as shown in the Supplementary Estimates No. 4, 2020-2021 which form the Schedule to the Resolution.

Notice of this Resolution was given on 23rd July, 2020.

# QUESTIONS